5 Things my younger sister has taught me…

Hello there! If you read my “Get to Know Me” post, you know that I have a younger sister. Being sisters, we have been through all our hardest and greatest times together, and there is no shortage of stories we share. Through the years, we have undoubtedly rubbed off on each other. Here is my top 5 list of what my baby sister has taught me. I should add that her name is Ankita, but I call her Anki. She’s 4 years younger than me.

  1. Don’t get sucked into the details. – Both my sister and I have a tendency to get very detailed with our stories. The difference between us, however, is that she only goes into detail when it’s something meaningful or important to her. For me, nothing is off limits. I can be talking about something as simple as cleaning and I won’t miss one detail. Most times, it’s just a personality difference, but it becomes a problem when the details create stress. If I’m telling her about something petty that has been stressing me out, she reminds me to snap out of it and to look at the big picture.
  2. Work hard through anything. – One HUGE trait I admire about Anki is that she’s always been a hard worker. It’s not as simple as just going to work. A few years ago, she was a student at DePaul University. During that time, our dad had a massive stroke that left him in a coma. As you can imagine, it was one of the most difficult times in our lives, but despite the challenges and emotional drainage, she kept her grades up. Life wasn’t easy by any means but she still worked hard. I remember quite vividly how overwhelmed I was- between juggling work and spending time with our dad in the hospital plus handling the finances, I was close to quitting my job because it was just too much to handle. But I knew that quitting wouldn’t solve anything. It’s one of the biggest traits about her that I wish I had embedded in me.
  3. Save for the future. – Being a finance major, Anki has a good grasp on the importance of saving for the future. Although I understand the general concepts and overall ideas, often times it’s easier said than done. Because of this financial exposure I have from Anki, it has motivated me to take the necessary steps for our future, financially. For example, my husband and I have set up an emergency fund along with our general savings account. The huge change I will be making this year is focusing on our 401k and retirement plans. It’s never too late to start, and because of her, I feel more motivated to start now.
  4. Be adventurous. – I absolutely love to travel, and have been fortunate enough to visit many places in my life, but I have never traveled alone. Whether it’s with my husband or family vacations, there have always been people with me, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. But if I had no choice but to go alone, I would be hesitant. I know that for sure. I’m fairly confident and I wouldn’t be worried about getting lost or facing problems along the way, yet I don’t think I can go to another country alone. I don’t know why. A couple years ago, my sister went to New Zealand to visit our family. Hearing about her experience there and how she spent precious time with our grandma made me excited to do the same one day. Her pictures exemplified adventure in a beautiful country. It was the first time she traveled to another country by herself and now she has amazing memories that can never be replaced or replicated.
  5. Stay true to yourself. – I’m a definite people pleaser. I don’t mind that quality about myself, in fact I actually love it, but the problem arises when too many opinions affect my decisions. For example, let’s take something as simple as hair color. If I want to dye my hair blonde (hasn’t happened yet!), and it’s something I’ve always wanted, I will go for second and third opinions. Let’s say 2 out of 3 people say ‘go for it!’, I’ll still second guess because of the 1 person that said ‘no way!’. It can get exhausting, and it’s nearly impossible to make everyone happy. That’s just life, but it weighs heavy on me. My sister on the other hand wants people to be happy, but she will still follow her desires and goals. She will ask others for advice and for their opinions or insight on things, but she’ll ultimately make the decision on her own accord. She doesn’t focus too much on the nay-sayers if it’s against what’s in her heart.

The list goes on and on. xoxo

Isn’t it amazing how much of an impact those close to us make on us?

Leave a Reply

