For One More Day…

Hello there! I’m an avid reader (or at least I try to be) – my preferred genre is spirituality or life lessons in general. Throughout all the books I’ve read, there is one book that has a special place in my heart. It’s called For One More Day by Mitch Albom. It’s about a troubled man who has the opportunity to spend one more day with his deceased mother. In order to not give away too much information, I’ll stop there. But let me tell you why I love it oh so much.

Think about it. Is there someone you wish you could see just one more time? What if you could have one last conversation with that person? What would you say? After my parents passed away, I would have dreams that they are alive again. It is a very surreal feeling because even though I am dreaming, my thoughts inside the dreams acknowledge that this is just a dream and that I’m going to wake up soon. But even so, I make the most of the moment. Now, of course I don’t have any control over what happens, but I guess in some way, it feels like I do. I vividly recall one particular dream where I’m in my childhood home when my mom comes through the door after work. I run out from the kitchen and see her. Shocked, I gave her a huge hug that I can still feel to this day. She was confused as to why I was acting strange, when I told her “But, I thought I’d never see you again”. She said “Of course you will see me, always”. That dream occurred about 5 years ago, but I still recall the details. I have had a very similar dream about my dad. Once I wake up, I can’t help but to think about having one more day with them. What would I say?

Realistically, it’s just not possible. In a world where making the impossible possible surrounds us, you just can’t do that with this. Once a person has passed away, you are left with the memories, love, and lessons they’ve taught us. That, with the power of prayer (and anything else that uplifts you), will enable us to move forward and heal from our loss.

If I could have one more day with my parents, I would spend every second talking, hugging, laughing, and seeking advice. So often, I am in familial situations where I don’t know what the right choice is. I talk to my parents in Heaven and ask what they would want me to do since they have dealt with somewhat similar problems during their time on Earth. If it’s anything outside of that, I rely on my own judgment and the advice from my husband and in-laws. Now don’t get me wrong. I am and will be forever grateful for the love I’m blessed with. I wouldn’t trade it in for anything in the world. Just to hug my parents once more, and to hear my mom sing once again would be my idea of a great “For One More Day” remake.

So allow yourself to dig deep and think… What would you do if you could have one more day with a loved one?

Sincerely, Love.

Leave a Reply

