Love 365 | V-Day Special

Hello gorgeous, and Happy Valentine’s Day! With today being such a love themed day, I wanted to share some of my thoughts on special occasions, particularly VDay. Why do we need a ‘special’ day to do sweet things for our loved one? Why wait until February 14th to surprise your partner and really turn up the ‘aww’ factor? This is my main and only objection to special holidays. Now don’t get me wrong – you know I love love, but I don’t like the expectations, demands, and wallet busting ideals that come with that. My husband and I have had our share of wonderful valentine’s day celebrations, but we’re finding more and more that a home cooked dinner, wine, movies, games, and spending quality time together is what’s really special to us. I don’t mean you shouldn’t spoil your significant other, but why wait until Valentine’s day to do so?

I don’t know why, but I have been so incredibly blessed to have such a great partner. My husband does so many thoughtful things for me on a regular basis, and it’s really the little things that matter the most. The list is endless, but here are a few examples. I’m a bit obsessed with cleaning, so randomly, I’ll come home to a home sparkling and shining. Since I’m so terrible at prepping my lunch for work during the week, he gets it all ready for me. When I’m feeling too tired to cook, he’ll make sure it’s handled whether it’s take out or his own special chicken breast recipe. If I’m having a bad day, he will send me funny selfies or pics/videos of our puppies to cheer me up. He handles all car oriented duties like cleaning the inside, car washes, and filling up gas for me. If I have a cold or just feeling under the weather in general, he prepares the essentials – tea, medicine, etc, and doesn’t let me leave the bed until I’m well rested. When it’s that time of the month, he always assembles a care package filled with u know whats, midol, tea, and chocolate.

And I appreciate, love, and genuinely feel blessed to have him as my one and only. Love is everywhere, but true love is rare. Right now, stop for a moment and think about all your partner does for you. On this Valentine’s day, remember that it’s not about flowers or chocolates or jewelry or things. It’s about your connection, your bond, and your desire to be with each other.

Every relationship is special and unique in their own way. Embrace your love.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

Sincerely, Love

One thought on “Love 365 | V-Day Special

Leave a Reply

