PinkHearts: Inside Out

Hi there! Guess who’s back! Now let’s not waste any time and jump right into it. I’ve spoken about anxiety before, and I’ve even shared my all time favorite podcast that may help you manage your anxiety, but I’ve never really discussed different tactics you could use to calm your anxious thoughts down. So I thought, why not today. Note: I’m not licensed nor do I have any educational background on this topic. These tips have helped me which have in turn inspired me to share them with you.

  1.  Remove yourself from the anxiety causing environment.  This is so much easier said than done, and I understand that it’s not always possible. But if you can, do it. Say for example you work in a job where day in and day out, you are filled with anxiety, it might be time for a change. In recent times, I was working in an office with 2 other colleagues who belittled me, criticized often, and gossiped nearly every day. It was so toxic, and the mind games began eating away at my self confidence. One minute they were professional, the next minute they were mean girls from high school. Simply sitting at my desk doing work gave me heart palpitations, and I constantly worried about the petty issues. I would listen to the anxiety podcast (see previous post), during work just to take my mind off of the office drama. Enough was enough, and I had to make a change. Since then, it has been a 180 degree change. I feel so much better with little to no anxiety symptoms, and it’s incredible how much of a positive change leaving that job has been.
  2. Get up and get going. I, like many people, have days where I lack inspiration or motivation. It leaves me feeling lethargic and like a lump on a log, until I snap back to reality. Get up and get going. Do something, anything, that makes you feel like you conquered a goal. List making is a great way to feel like you’ve completed more. Ahh, the feeling of checking off a to-do on your list will make you feel like you are one step closer to success. Don’t let a bad day cycle into a bad week, month, or year. You have today, so make the most of it. In fact, stop right now and grab a paper and pen. Make a list; whether it’s a to-do list or a list of what you love about yourself, write it down. It’s a great visual tool to remind yourself of how awesome you really are regardless of
  3. Don’t be so hard on yourself. We all have flaws; some people are just better at hiding them than others. Our flaws make us unique. What you may dislike about yourself might be what someone else admires about you. View yourself through a lens that’s honest (so you can improve), but rosy. Every day is a new day to be better and do better. Often times, we are our biggest critics. That constant negative opinion about yourself will only sink you deeper into feeling like your worst self. You will make mistakes, and that’s okay. Shake it off and move on. Stop overthinking. What’s done is done, but you still have today to try harder and be better.

Give it a go and see if the above tips help you. It may take days or months, but one thing’s for sure, you have today to be who you want to be. Be your own inspiration.

beautiful

 

Sincerely, Love.

Leave a Reply

