Self Care

Hello there!

Self care is a term you’ve heard over and over again, from your latest Instagram scroll session to various facebook posts. But do you do it? How often? Does it help you like you thought it would? As a mom to a toddler (eee!), it has been critical for me to stay in touch with myself. I make sure to do it as often as possible, within reason, but I’ll be honest, it has taken me some time to take care of my mental health without feeling guilty. Now that my son is nearly 18 months old, I have finally found what tricks work for me to get in a few moments of what I call self care.

If you read my post on perception, it applies greatly when it comes to self care. It is all about your views on what you find fulfilling. So remember, self care may look differently for everyone. And no matter how big or small, self care in any form is important to everyone.

Let’s start small. Hot showers, makeup, and coffee. Start your mornings off right. Our morning routine enables me to fit in time for these 3 self care items every week day. I’m a working mom, which means I’m up before my son and husband, and can get ready for the day. In the past when my son was younger and would be up for frequently through the night, taking a hot shower wasn’t a self care item. Let’s be honest, hearing a crying baby while you’re trying to “relax” just don’t work. Now that he’s older, and I get up earlier, I’m able to get this me time without guilt.

Time out. Put yourself in time out if you have to, but the adult version. When your spouse is home, and you need a breather, remove yourself from the environment for a little bit. It doesn’t have to be extreme, just a few minutes to de-stress and disconnect in order to check in with yourself. If you’re a multitasker like me, that could mean a bathroom break. It’s just a couple minutes, but it can provide you with clarity if that’s what you’re needing.

Stop scrolling. We’re all guilty of it, yet we know it’s not necessarily healthy for us. What you see, you feel, whether it’s subconscious or not. Social media has plenty of benefits, however it’s important to check in with yourself before you go down the rabbit hole. Scrolling through Instagram posts will do one of two things; inspire you or suck you into a world of comparison.

Therapy. One of my 2020 goals was to prioritize my mental health. For years, I had pushed aside the thought of seeing a therapist. I was never against it, but just felt I ‘wasn’t ready’ yet. Well, news flash, you’re never ready. Our family motto for the year is “just do it”. So if an idea has come in your mind, and it’s feasible, don’t overthink it but just do it. I’ve gone to a handful of sessions and have left feeling more in touch with myself with a deeper understanding of things around me. It has been so eye opening, and has made a big difference in my mental health.

These are just a few ways I show myself self care. Whatever you view as nurturing your mind, body and soul, do those things, even if it’s for just a few minutes a day. You’ll be happy you did.

Sincerely,

Love.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.