Courage, is that you?

Hi lovelies,

Would you describe yourself as courageous? Everyone has something that feels like kryptonite to them, whether it’s public speaking or when you see the voicemail notification on your phone, yikes. But what exactly happens to you in those moments that make you feel less than or like you’re struggling? Take notice of your body – your heart beat, palms sweating, and jitters that rush through your body. And then own it. It takes years of practice, and everybody overcomes their own nerve wrecking moments in their own ways but what’s key is learning about yourself and finding ways to combat that.

I have done plenty of things in my life that I wish I hadn’t, and I recognize now that it was because of my lack of courage. I once quit a job I loved because my then boss read an email I had sent that wasn’t very nice. I found out when I was on my honeymoon, and decided to not return to work and instead focus on being a wife. Sounds cute, but no. The reality is it was because I was terrified of facing her and having an uncomfortable conversation. That was me being a coward, and if I could tell my young self something, it would be to own it. Own your mistakes, have unpleasant conversations, and then move on. You’ll be better for it.

These days, I still go through situations where I cower down or run from but I’ve forced myself to be in an uneasy state instead of fearing it. Once I acknowledge that, I give myself a little pep talk. “What’s the worse that can happen?” And my favorite self affirmation is “you are Liam and Andrews mom, you got this”.

Think about that the next time you feel uneasy or just overall not confident of how you’ll handle the unexpected. Because the reality is is that life is full of that, and I know it sounds cliche but it’s what happens to you but how you approach it.

Sincerely, Love.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.