One day…

One day, this will be a distant memory.

As I look at the fruits that need to be refilled for the week, I’m rudely aware of the fact that one day, I will no longer have that on my to do list. I won’t have to manage multiple schedules or worry about whether or not I’m enrolling my kids into activities that are fulfilling their needs. I won’t be worried about juggling the home, and work, whilst being a present, happy mom, and a role as a wife. I won’t be packing backpacks, and predicting what snacks they’d like on their snack day. I won’t have to think about cutting their nails, and scheduling hair cuts, doctors appts, and everything in between. I won’t worry about rushing to karate after work and being derailed by traffic. I won’t be looking at my calendar trying to fit tasks into 1 hour increments, only to have a ton leftover to do for the next day.

I dreamt the other day that I was with my boys, as they are now, ages 5 and almost 3. We were in a local restaurant, and Liam was holding Andrew. I blinked, and suddenly they were in their mid 20s. Grown men standing next to their little old mom, while I held onto them. I thought about how lucky I was to have them, and how I missed them as young kids. It was bittersweet and has reminded me that the years truly truly are so short.

I want to forever wipe their tears. I want them to grow up with so much love that they never doubt their worth; to know that just being as they are is the most perfect version of them. I’m grateful that a majority, if not all, of the tasks are on my to do list are ones I love, and choose to do, but my greatest gift is that of being their mother. They’ve taught me as just as much as I’ve taught them.

It’s given me a different perspective of what our parents went through. The struggles, the deep rooted love, the daily juggling, while maintaining some sort of sanity. It’s such beautiful chaos. The noise is on our home will be missed one day, and before I blink, the day will be here. So for now, I will forever tell my boys how proud I am to be their mom, and how grateful I am for their presence in my entire heart.

Sincerely,

Love

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.